Summer 2007 Kayaking Recap: Duck Lake, MI

…so early in 2007 I bought myself a folding kayak from well-regarded manufacturer Folbot. This post is the first in a series of recaps of the things I actually did with my new boat during the past year!

The screencap below shows plots of the first two paddles I ever took in my Folbot Cooper. These voyages were done at Duck Lake, MI which is adjacent to the Michigan State Park campgrounds at Interlochen, MI. Comments follow the screencap…

Duck_Lake.png

The southern track was about 3.5 miles on July 1st, 2007, and the northern track was about 3 miles on July 3rd, 2007. Here are some highlights of each route:

    Duck Lake, Southern Track, 7/1/07

  • Took two hours to assemble the boat the first time!
  • Turned out I was missing a C-clip + bolt to secure the longerons to the crossframes!
  • Thankfully some helpful gents up from Chicago gave me some zip ties to finish putting the boat together! They worked nearly as well as the actual C-clip!
  • I set off from the boat launch to the southeast heading for the opposite lakeshore. Once there I downed an energy shot
  • After a brief break, I looped around and headed due south.
  • Duck Lake’s southern end is interesting because there is a great deal of treefall in the shallow areas. This leads to a rapidly deepening area in the very southwestern corner of the lake.
  • Turning back to the north I saw a guy messing around in his powerboat. Never a good sign.
  • The guy must’ve been drunk, because he managed to unintentionally beach his boat on the nose of land immediately to the right of the Green Lake Landing Strip! Haha!
  • After that I turned northwest and followed the shore back to the campground’s boat launch.
  • Humping a 50 lb., 16 ft. kayak through a campground is no joke!
  • Turned the boat upside down and tried to keep it out of the dirt at my site for the night.

    Duck Lake, Northern Track, 7/3/07

  • Got an early start, but the weather didn’t look so hot.
  • Noticed a tingling sensation in my shins, but I thought this was due to the school of minnows circling my legs.
  • Followed the shore in a northeasterly direction until a brief H2Obreak in the reeds near the mouth of Tonawanda Creek.
  • Very few powerboats in the lake, one benefit of getting an early start!
  • Came around to the southeast, then headed back to the launch in a southwesterly direction. Waves probably 1 to 1.5 feet.
  • The sky is threatening, but there is nothing more than a drizzle falling
  • Feathering my paddle right-handed 60 degrees makes a heck of a difference going into a headwind!
  • Have to mention that the Cooper is a tremendously stable and confident boat even in challenging flatwater conditions!

Overall, these were a successful pair of maiden voyages! Well, other htan the tingling in my legs that ultimately turned out to be swimmer’s itch! Argh!

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , ,

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Summer 2007 Kayaking Recap: Duck Lake, MI

  1. Hi,

    I just wanted to say I enjoyed reading about your adventures in your Folbot Cooper. I am sorry one of the c-clips was missing — we have now put a lot of effort into QC to help prevent something like that from happening. Did you call to get a replacement clip (it is, of course, covered under your lifetime warranty)? Just call us at 800.533.5099 and let Wanda know what happened and she will get one out to you ASAP.

    I am glad you have enjoyed your Cooper — I look forward to reading about more adventures!

    All the best,

    David AvRutick
    President
    Folbot, Inc.
    david@folbot.com

Leave a Reply

