Cell Phones vs. VHF Marine Radios

One question that’s been running through my mind as I plan to venture farther afield in my kayak is whether or not to purchase a handheld, marine VHF radio.

At this point most of my journeys have been on freshwater lakes that are not terribly removed from civilization. At worst my cell phone has been reduced to a roaming state.

However, I eventually plan to go places where I may not even get the benefit of roaming coverage.

To get others’ opinions, I began a Facebook discussion on this topic, and I received a very helpful reply from Christopher Strout:

“I HIGHLY suggest getting a VHF radio. When I paddle I always carry one. I also will often carry my cell phone. Some reasons to have a VHF. They are generally submersible rated unlike your cell phone meaning that it can get wet and still work. When using a cell phone you have to know phone numbers.”

Chris’ complete, and very informative, response may be found here:
Cell Phone vs. VHF Marine Radio

Best Paddling!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Cell Phones vs. VHF Marine Radios

  1. Bob Williams says:

    I know where a bunch of VHF radios are… 😉

Leave a Reply

