Weekend Outing: Long Point State Park, NY 8/8 to 8/10/08

So this fine year 2008 hasn’t worked out quite the way I planned it, but things are still going pretty well. That said I present my next weekend outing up at Long Point State Park here in the 1000 Islands region of NY State:

longptny1.png

This route takes place within the sheltered waters of Chaumont Bay and it is about 9 miles in length. The first, upwind leg takes me west near the shore. The returning downwind leg brings me back east to my campsite.

The protected nature of Chaumont Bay should mean that I don’t have to worry about dealing with Lakers or their wakes! I’m also hoping it gives me some respite from the westerly winds that are typical of the Great Lakes region.

Hopefully the weather holds out for me!

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , , ,

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Weekend Outing: Long Point State Park, NY 8/8 to 8/10/08

  1. Bob Williams says:

    Looks much more calm than that last Petoskey adventure. I’d have been shitting my pants.
    New neighbors with unsecured wireless networks are a beautiful thing!

  2. thethirdcoast says:

    Yeah, Chaumont should be a good paddle. Going to try and grill up my farmers’ market steak after I get off the water that day.

Leave a Reply

